District Profile


Sam A. Rotella, Jr., Superintendent

Bonnie Thompson, Business Manager
Krista Peterson – Director of Special Education


The Southern Tioga School District is located on the major Route 15 corridor in northcentral Pennsylvania. Our boundaries encompass 485 square miles in southeastern Tioga and northeastern Lycoming Counties. The major population communities within our district include Blossburg, which provides the largest source of employment for district residents through Ward Manufacturing, Inc.; Liberty, with its majestic mountains and rural farmlands; and Mansfield, home of Mansfield University.

Professional services and human services are readily available in our immediate area; higher education needs are met through Mansfield University and Pennsylvania College of Technology. Beyond the many services of our own communities, our proximity to the metropolitan areas of Corning and Elmira, New York and Williamsport, Pennsylvania make Southern Tioga School District an ideal location in which to live.

Those who live here recognize the value of education and of our children as a resource for the preservation of future societies.


The District operates five schools– two junior-senior high schools and and three elementary schools.

Blossburg Elementary School
Mr. William Swingle, Principal
133 Hannibal Street
Blossburg, PA 16912
(570) 638-2146

Liberty Elementary School
Mrs. Emily Ostrom-Graham, Principal
8622 Route 414
Liberty, PA 16930
(570) 324-2521

North Penn-Liberty Jr. Sr. High School
Mrs. Emily Ostrom-Graham, Principal
P. O. Box 135
Liberty, PA 16930
(570) 324- 2071

Warren L. Miller Elementary School
Mrs. Patricia White, Principal
Dorsett Drive
Mansfield, PA 16933
(570) 662-2192

North Penn-Mansfield Jr. Sr. High School
Mr. P. William David, Principal
73 W. Wellsboro Street
Mansfield, PA 16933
(570) 662-2674


Children living in the following areas attend Southern Tioga Schools:

Putnam Township
Morris Township
Rutland Township
Ward Township
Liberty Township
Roseville Borough
Blossburg Borough
Liberty Borough
Mansfield Borough
Bloss Township
Jackson Township
Sullivan Township
Hamilton Township
Cogan House Township
Richmond Township
Covington Township


The staff of Southern Tioga School District consists of 237 full-time and 53 part-time members. Each of our two high schools and three elementary schools receives instructional support from certified principals, guidance counselors, and school health personnel. Qualified secretaries, paraprofessionals, custodians and cafeteria personnel complement the educational program.

The central office administration includes the Superintendent of Schools, Business Manager, Supervisor of Special Education, Director of Curriculum, Instruction & Assessment.